Sand Point Fly Around | [Blog]

Airplanes and Aleutian Islands and Alaska, OH MY!DAJ_1665

Two weeks ago, I FINALLY got my feet off the island and took a little plane ride. After a super successful Saturday night Jam, Theo brought Paul and I on a joyride before flying back home. I am so lucky to have friends in high places… get it? Because Theo is a pilot? And the sky is high? HA.

DAJ_1670Sometimes I just crack myself up.

DAJ_1700In all honesty though flying around Sand Point was one of the biggest highlights since moving to Alaska. It is one thing to explore the island on foot, or to circle it by boat. But it is another to fly above your home and see the boat harbor, tiny houses, water inlets, and HUGE mountains. Even though we only flew around for about fifteen minutes, it was SO exhilarating. Even more so for Paul, who (unbeknownst to me) was doing the majority of the flying. Theo’s plane is the smallest I have ever been in and I felt like kind of a big deal to be capturing this unique perspective.

DAJ_1728

Just another fascinating part of this #SandPointStories adventure, courtesy of Theo!

One thought on “Sand Point Fly Around | [Blog]

Leave a comment